St Johns County Florida has openings for three non-resident arts professionals to sit on the Arts Culture and Heritage Grant Panel.   These grants are funded by the Tourist Development Tax (bed tax) and are focused on events, programs and activities that attract visitors.


The Cultural Council administers the program for the County. 


This year there were 37 applications, 34 funded, with a total grant pool of $618,000.


The County does reimburse travel and lodging – sorry no stipend.


It’s a rigorous application – we use the Survey Monkey Fluid Review Grant platform.  Application and preliminary scoring is done on line with an in-person panel meeting in July.


Access link to the Guidelines for review is


The Grant Panel is an official advisory body to the County and therefore applications to serve have to go through the County and a subsequent appoint by the Board of County Commissioners


The Cultural Council is proud of this Cultural Tourism Grant program and we urge colleagues to help us out and learn a lot more about how a Cultural Tourism program could help support your community


Call or email if you have questions.  Feb 22 deadline to apply


Andy Witt


Andrew Witt

Executive Director

St. Johns Cultural Council

15 Old Mission Avenue

St. Augustine, FL 32084

904-808-7330 o

803-553-9808 c


Here’s the official County Announcement.


St. Johns County is currently accepting applications for the following volunteer Board and Committee vacancies. Please call (904) 209-0300 for more information or to obtain an application.


Arts/ Culture I Heritage Funding Panel (7)


Purpose of Committee: To review and evaluate proposals for St. Johns County not-for-profit organizations which provide programming and events of a cultural, artistic or heritage nature that will attract visitors and are enjoyed by residents.


Qualifications: Seeking four (4) members who are residents of St. Johns County with a demonstrated interest in tourism/cultural development and promotion, one of which is an alternate with voting privileges only in the absence of one or more regular member. Seeking three (3) members who are non-county residents that are professionals with arts, cultural, or heritage organizations or institutions with experience utilizing events as tourism demand generators, one of which is an alternate with voting privileges only in the absence of one or more regular member.


Term: St. Johns County resident members serve two (2) year terms and non-residents serve one (1) year terms.


Meeting Schedule: This Panel meets quarterly (Jan, Apr, Jul, Oct) at the County Administration Building, 500 San Sebastian View. Additional special meetings may be called, when needed, particularly during budget preparation.


Questions: Questions can be directed to Thomas C. Filloramo, Administrative Coordinator, at 904-209-0308, or

Application Submission Deadline: February 22, 2018